Based on materials provided by The Guardian

Stephen Hawking recently said that he would consider assisted suicide if he became a burden to others or if he had “nothing more to contribute.”

However, the noted physicist and cosmologist said he still has too much work to do.

“To keep someone alive against their wishes is the ultimate indignity,” Hawking, 73, told his interviewer, the comedian Dara O’Briain in a forthcoming BBC program. “I would consider assisted suicide only if I were in great pain or felt I had nothing more to contribute but was just a burden to those around me.”

Hawking said he had many more discoveries to make and theories to produce. “I am damned if I’m going to die before I have unravelled more of the universe.”

Read the full Guardian article here.

Image Credit: Doug Wheller/Wikimedia Commons (CC BY 2.0)

